Puke Ariki Mobile Library Bus visiting schools

The winners for New Zealand Post Children’s Book awards

Book of The Year, Best Young Adult Fiction – Ted Dawes, Into the River (self-published)

Best Non-Fiction – Simon Morton and Riria Hotere, 100 Amazing Tales from Aotearoa (Te Papa Press).

Best Junior Fiction – David Hill, My Brother’s War (Penguin Group NZ).

Best Picture Book – Margaret Mahy and Gavin Bishop, Mister Whistler (Gecko press).

Best First Book – Hugh Brown, Reach (HarperCollins).

Children’s Choice – Kyle Mewburn, Ali Teo and John O’Reilly, Melu (Scholastic NZ).

Book award winner a favourite on bus

Book Festival 1 (smaller)

Puke Ariki’s mobile library toured Taranaki last week promoting the New Zealand Post Children’s Book Awards.

On board the bus was a selection of titles featuring this year’s finalists which were read to children at schools around the district.

A stuffed kiwi from Puke Ariki Museum had also hitched a ride.

Margaret Mahy and Gavin Bishop’s picture book finalist Mister Whistler was also popular.

Braedan Quilter-Phipps, 10, said the book was his favourite.

Josh Goble agreed: “Mister Whistler is a funny story,” the 9-year-old said.

They proved excellent judges, because it was last night named best picture book at the awards.

Read more…